I wish I was a Shirelle

So I guess there are two gangs in the 60s girl bands :

The one where girls fight for their man despite the bad reputation, and the one where girls cry out because guys are jerks. The Crystals, for example, belongs to the first one (He’s a rebel, There’s no other like my baby, Uptown, or even freakin’ he hit me ), and The Supremes belong to the other (Love is here and now you’re gone, Keep me hanging on, love is like an itching in my heart …)

I got a strange relationship to The Supremes. It’s not my favorite band but I really like it because of some sentimental value. Not that anything important in my life happened while they where on, but they are kind of the result of an equation including things I like… and prozac.

I’m more an Ike & Tina Turner or Candi Staton person but I don’t relate to their  » stand by your man  » vibes. Having one big crush/love/jerk-that-your-heart-don’t-let-you-dump and making compromises (hysterical ones, of course) for ? As a person that have bad love luck, I relate way more to the « Get-out-my-life-you-random-jerk/please-don’t-leave-me-you-new-random-jerk » vibes The Supremes go for. It reminds me a bit of Jacques Brel’s desperate and bitter style in « le pendu » or  » Ne me quittes pas  » **  but just sang by a Vanessa Paradis under Prozac (and black) (and with Brigitte Bardot’s haircut)

** (For those that are interesting in this great man, there is some English covers compiled there. You can hear, for example :  If you go away, Ne me quittes pas by Nina Simone, or even this awesome Next’s cover by Sensational Alex Harvey band)

Pour lire le texte en français, cliquer ici :

Donc je suppose que dans les groupes de filles des années 60, il y a deux clans:

Celui des nanas qui se battent pour leur homme en dépit de leur réputation, et celui de celles qui pleurent parce que les mecs sont tous des cons. The Crystals, par exemple, appartient au premier (He’s a rebel, There’s no other like my baby, Uptown, ou même le très controversé he hit me ), et The Supremes appartient à l’autre (Love is here and now you’re gone, Keep me hanging on, love is like an itching in my heart …)

J’ai une relation étrange avec The Supremes, non pas que ce soit mon préféré, mais je l’aime beaucoup à cause de sa valeur sentimentale. Pourtant, aucune de leurs chansons n’est passée lors d’un moment clef de ma vie, mais c’est probablement juste parce qu’elles pourraient être le résultat d’une équation incluant des choses que j’aime… et du prozac.

J’aime mille fois plus Ike et Tina Turner ou Candi Staton, mais je ne m’identifie pas du tout à l’ambiance  » stand by your man « . Avoir un grand amour/connard-impossible-à-plaquer-parce-qu’on-l’aime, et axer sa vie et ses décisions autour ou faire des compromis? En tant que personne malchanceuse en amour, je suis plus sensible à l’ambiance « Dégages-de-ma-vie-enfoiré-quelconque/Pitié-ne-me-quittes-pas-nouvel-enfoiré-quelconque » que je retrouve chez les Supremes. ça me rappelle un peu le style désespéré et amer de Jacques Brel dans « le pendu » ou  » Ne me quittes pas  »  mais chantés par une Vanessa Paradis sous Prozac (et noire) (et avec la coiffure de Brigitte Bardot)

Laisser un commentaire

